House Committee on Rules to consider
Natural Gas Pipelines - Public Protection Bills
Bill Numbers
HB1141, HB1187, HB1188, HB1294
Natural Gas Pipelines - Public Protection Bills
Find your Legislators
Call your House of Delegates Representative and Committee Chair, and Committee Members to support HB 1141, HB 1187, HB 1188, and HB 1294 which, together, provide critical protections to public health, safety, the environment and individual property rights in the planning for, construction and operation of natural gas pipelines.

Given the importance of these bills, please consider appearing before the Rules Committee and making a statement of support.

The Committee’s schedule for hearing these bills can be found here Click on “Agenda”.

Be advised -- the Committee may not provide much advance notice - so keep checking.
HB 1141 authorizes the State Water Control Board to require water quality permits to protect rivers and groundwater during construction and operation of gas pipelines.

HB 1187 prevents a natural gas company from entering on private property to survey or conduct tests for proposed lines or facilities unless the State Corporation Commission has issued a public use certification and provides an expedited procedure for landowners to seek injunctive relief and damages.

HB 1188 (a) makes illegal the discharge of gas from natural gas pipelines on lands, stormwater drains or state waters and (b) holds pipeline operators liable for the costs of cleanup and damages to natural resources. It requires pipeline operators to establish baseline groundwater data for properties in the right-of-way which enables regulators to detect when gas has been illegally discharged or leaked from a pipeline operation into rural water supplies.

HB 1294 requires a company that builds a natural gas pipeline to post a performance bond with the State Water Control Board, so that money is available to rectify adverse water quality problems created by the construction of a pipeline.
HB1141 - Del. Sam Rasoul (HD11), Del. Chris Hurst (HD12), Del. Kaye Kory (HD38) HB1187, 1188 & 1294 - Del. Sam Rasoul & Del. Chris Hurst
If your Delegate is on the list below, call and say why you support these resolutions! Or email: (fill in your district)
House Committee on Rules (* Chair, ** VC)
Member (Party/District)
* Kirk Cox (R66)
** Todd Gilbert (R15)
Terry Kilgore (R1)
Gregory Habeeb (R8)
Terry Austin (R19)
Steven Landes (R25)
Ken Plum (D36)
Luke Torian (D52)
Robert Orrock (R54)
David Toscano (D57)
Riley Ingram (R62)
Lee R. Ware (R65)
Betsy Carr (D69)
Lamont Bagby (D74)
Chris Jones (R76)
Capitol phone
(804) 698-1066
(804) 698-1015
(804) 698-1001
(804) 698-1008
(804) 698-1019
(804) 698-1025
(804) 698-1036
(804) 698-1052
(804) 698-1054
(804) 698-1057
(804) 698-1062
(804) 698-1065
(804) 698-1069
(804) 698-1074
(804) 698­-1076
District phone
(804) 526-5153
(540) 459-7550
(276) 386-7011
(540) 915-2962
(540) 254-1500
(540) 255-5335
(703) 758-9733
(703) 785-2224
(540) 891-1322
(434) 220-1660
(804) 452-2202
(804) 598-6696
(804) 698-1069
(804) 698-1074
(757) 483-6242